Deal expands state of emergency, encourages voluntary evacuation for six coastal counties

October 5, 2016

Acting on a recommendation from the state's Emergency Operations Command in anticipation of Hurricane Matthew, Gov. Nathan Deal today expanded the state of emergency to include 17 additional counties in the southeastern region of Georgia. This brings the total to 30 counties under the emergency declaration, which also warns against price gouging. Deal issued an additional executive order waiving rules and regulations for commercial motor vehicles transporting emergency supplies.

“The National Hurricane Center predicts Hurricane Matthew will include excessive rainfall, strong winds and potential flooding. Because of this, I’m encouraging a voluntary evacuation for residents in Chatham, Bryan, Liberty, McIntosh, Glynn and Camden Counties. Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency (GEMHSA) Director Jim Butterworth is coordinating with appropriate state and local officials to ensure the safety of residents in these six counties as well as those in the other affected areas. I urge Georgians in the affected areas to remain calm, be prepared and make informed, responsible decisions as we continue to monitor Hurricane Matthew’s path.”

The additional 17 counties included in the state of emergency are:

Screven, Jenkins, Emanuel, Treutlen, Candler, Toombs, Tattnall, Jeff Davis, Appling, Coffee, Bacon, Pierce, Ware, Atkinson, Clinch, Burke and Echols.

Voluntary evacuation is encouraged for the following six counties:

Bryan, Chatham, Liberty, McIntosh, Glynn and Camden. 

Read the executive orders here. For more information on GEMHSA preparedness efforts and storm updates, contact Catherine Howden or visit