Deal: Team to combat risks of Ebola should the need arise

October 20, 2014

Gov. Nathan Deal today named the members of the Georgia Ebola Response Team, which was created by executive order to assess current state health and emergency management procedures and produce necessary recommendations to minimize any potential impact of the disease in Georgia.

“Those that have been chosen to serve on the panel are leaders in their respective fields, and I’m confident that their combined talents and experience will allow them to effectively examine state preparedness and provide all necessary recommendations,” said Deal. “By opening up lines of communication between the private and public sector, Georgia is uniquely positioned to combat the risks of Ebola should the need arise and protect the health of the people of our state. An informed public and a prepared group of first responders and health care professionals can save lives. Let me reiterate: As a state, we are taking every precaution to make certain Georgia stands prepared.”

The Ebola response team will be chaired by Brenda Fitzgerald, commissioner of the Georgia Department of Public Health. A full list of team members below:




Brenda Fitzgerald, MD


Georgia Department of Public Health

William Bornstein, MD, PhD

Chief Quality and Medical Officer

Emory Healthcare

Susan Grant, MS, RN, NEA-BC,


Chief Nurse Executive;

Associate Dean

Emory Healthcare; Nell Hodgson

Woodruff School of Nursing

Frederick Quinn, MS, PhD

Professor of Infectious Diseases

University of Georgia

Charley English


Georgia Emergency Management Agency

Major General Jim Butterworth

Adjutant General

Georgia National Guard

Miguel Southwell

General Manager

Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport

Michael Geisler

Chief Operating Officer

City of Atlanta

Scott Kroell


Liberty Regional Medical Center

Courtney Terwilliger


Georgia Association of Emergency Medical Services

Brenda Rowe, M.N., RN, JD

Associate Professor

Georgia Baptist College of Nursing, Mercer University

Jody Barrow

Superintendent; President

Fayette County Schools; Georgia School Superintendent Association

Doug Patten, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Georgia Hospital Association

The team will meet this week and immediately begin issuing recommendations to the governor.  

Related Files: 
PDF icon (1.39 MB)