House Bill 1173 (AS PASSED HOUSE AND SENATE)

By: Representative Belton of the 112<sup>th</sup>

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

- 1 To amend an Act creating the Board of Commissioners of Morgan County, approved
- 2 March 22, 1935 (Ga. L. 1935, p. 738), as amended, particularly by an Act approved
- 3 March 5, 2012 (Ga. L. 2012, p. 3941), so as to change the description of the commissioner
- 4 districts; to provide for definitions and inclusions; to provide for continuation in office of
- 5 current members and election of subsequent members; to repeal conflicting laws; and for
- 6 other purposes.

## 7 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

8 SECTION 1.

- 9 An Act creating the Board of Commissioners of Morgan County, approved March 22, 1935
- 10 (Ga. L. 1935, p. 738), as amended, particularly by an Act approved March 5, 2012
- 11 (Ga. L. 2012, p. 3941), is amended by revising Section 2 as follows:
- 12 "SECTION 2.
- 13 (a) The Board of Commissioners of Morgan County shall consist of five members. For
- purposes of electing members of the board of commissioners, Morgan County is divided
- into five commissioner districts. The five commissioner districts shall be and correspond

16 to those five numbered districts described in Appendix A, attached to and made a part of

this Act and further identified as 'User: Morgan Co. Plan Name: MorganCCSB-2022 Plan

- 18 Type: Local'.
- 19 (b)(1) For the purposes of such plan:
- 20 (A) The term 'VTD' shall mean and describe the same geographical boundaries as
- 21 provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census for the United States decennial
- census of 2020 for the State of Georgia. The separate numeric designations in a district
- description which are underneath a VTD heading shall mean and describe individual
- 24 Blocks within a VTD as provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census for the
- United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of Georgia; and
- 26 (B) Except as otherwise provided in the description of any district, whenever the
- description of any district refers to a named city, it shall mean the geographical
- boundaries of that city as shown on the census maps for the United States decennial
- census of 2020 for the State of Georgia.
- 30 (2) Any part of Morgan County which is not included in any district described in
- 31 subsection (a) of this section shall be included within that district contiguous to such part
- which contains the least population according to the United States decennial census of
- 33 2020 for the State of Georgia.
- 34 (3) Any part of Morgan County which is described in subsection (a) of this section as
- being included in a particular district shall nevertheless not be included within such
- district if such part is not contiguous to such district. Such noncontiguous part shall
- instead be included within that district contiguous to such part which contains the least
- population according to the United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of
- 39 Georgia."

40 SECTION 2.

41 Said Act is further amended by revising Section 4 as follows:

42 "SECTION 4.

The members of the Board of Commissioners of Morgan County in office on the effective date of this Act and any person selected to fill a vacancy in any such office shall continue to serve as such members until the regular expiration of their respective terms of office and upon the election and qualification of their respective successors. Commissioner Districts 1 through 5, as they exist immediately prior to the effective date of this section, shall continue to be designated as Commissioner Districts 1 through 5, respectively, but as newly described under this Act; and, on and after the effective date of this section, such members of the board serving from those former commissioner districts shall be deemed to be serving from and representing their respective districts as newly described under this Act. A successor to each such member shall be elected from the district described in Section 2 of this Act in the manner described in Section 3 of this Act. Elections shall be conducted under the general election laws of Georgia, and members shall be commissioned by the Governor as other county officers are commissioned."

56 SECTION 3.

57 All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.

58 APPENDIX A

- 59 User: Morgan Co.
- 60 Plan Name: MorganCCSB-2022
- 61 Plan Type: Local
- 62 District 001
- 63 County Morgan GA
- 64 VTD CENTRAL MORGAN
- 65 Block 010301:
- 66 1068 1069 1070 1071 1072 1073 1074 1075 1076
- 67 Block 010302:
- 68 2019 2022 2029 2031 2034
- 69 VTD NORTHEAST MORGAN
- 70 Block 010301:
- 71 2010 2011 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023
- 72 2024 2025 2026 2027 2028 2029 2030 2031 2032 2033 2034 2035
- 73 2036 2037 2038 2039 2042 2043 2044 2045 2046 2047 2048 2049
- 74 2053
- 75 Block 010302:
- 76 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013
- 77 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025
- 78 1026 1027 1028 1029 1030 1031 1032 1033 1034 1035 1036 1037
- 79 1038 1039 1040 1041 1044 1045 1047 1051 1052 1053 1054 1056
- 80 1057 1058 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2025 2026 2027 2028 2033
- 81 3015 3016 3017 3025

- 82 District 002
- 83 County Morgan GA
- 84 VTD CENTRAL MORGAN
- 85 Block 010200:
- 86 1070 1073
- 87 Block 010301:
- 88 1018 1019 1028 1029 1030 1031 1034 1035 1036 1057 1058 1059
- 89 1060 1061 1062 1063 1064 1118
- 90 VTD WEST MORGAN
- 91 District 003
- 92 County Morgan GA
- 93 VTD CENTRAL MORGAN
- 94 Block 010200:
- 95 1071
- 96 Block 010301:
- 97 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1016
- 98 1017 2009 2012 2013
- 99 VTD NORTH MORGAN
- 100 VTD NORTHEAST MORGAN
- 101 Block 010100:
- 102 2055 2056 2057 2058 2059 2060 2074 2075 2076 2077 2078 2079
- 103 2081 2082 2083 2086 2087 2088 2089 2090 2091 2092 2096
- 104 Block 010302:
- 105 3000 3001 3002 3003 3004 3005
- 106 District 004
- 107 County Morgan GA

- 108 VTD BETH/SPRINGFIELD
- 109 Block 010400:
- 110 2040 2045 2046 2049 2050 2051 2068 2069 2070 2071 2072
- 111 Block 010500:
- 112 1000 1119 1120 1123
- 113 VTD CENTRAL MORGAN
- 114 Block 010301:
- 115 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026
- 116 1027 1032 1033 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041 1042 1043 1044 1045
- 117 1046 1047 1048 1049 1050 1051 1052 1053 1054 1055 1056 1065
- 118 1066 1067 1077 1078 1079 1080 1081 1082 1083 1084 1085 1086
- 119 1087 1088 1089 1090 1091 1092 1093 1094 1095 1096 1097 1098
- 120 1099 1100 1101 1102 1103 1104 1105 1106 1107 1108 1109 1110
- 121 1111 1112 1113 1114 1115 1116 1117 1119 1120 1121 1122 1123
- 122 Block 010302:
- 123 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011
- 124 2012 2018 2020 2021 2023 2024 2030 2032 2035 2036 2037 2038
- 125 2039 2040 2041 2042 2043 2044 2045 2046 2047 2048 2049 2050
- 126 2051 2052 2053 2054 2055 2056 2057 2058 2059 2060 2061 2062
- 127 2063 2064 2065 2066 2067 2068 2069 2070 2071 2072 2073 2074
- 128 2075 2076
- 129 Block 010500:
- 130 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1013 1107
- 131 1108 1113 1114 1115 1116 1125
- 132 VTD CLACKS CHAPEL
- 133 VTD NORTHEAST MORGAN
- 134 Block 010301:
- 135 2040 2041 2050 2051 2052

- 136 Block 010302:
- 137 1042 1043
- 138 District 005
- 139 County Morgan GA
- 140 VTD BETH/SPRINGFIELD
- 141 Block 010400:
- 142 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2017 2018 2027 2028 2029 2030
- 143 2031 2032 2033 2034 2035 2036 2037 2038 2039 2041 2042 2043
- 144 2044 2047 2048 2052 2053 2054 2055 2056 2057 2058 2059 2060
- 145 2061
- 146 VTD EAST MORGAN
- 147 VTD NORTHEAST MORGAN
- 148 Block 010100:
- 149 2084 2085 2097 2098
- 150 Block 010302:
- 151 3006 3007 3008 3009 3010 3011 3012 3013 3014 3018 3019 3024