House Bill 1156 (AS PASSED HOUSE AND SENATE)

By: Representatives Hatchett of the 150th and Jackson of the 128th

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

- 1 To amend an Act creating the board of commissioners of Johnson County, approved March
- 2 27, 1941 (Ga. L. 1941, p. 887), as amended, so as to change the description of the
- 3 commissioner districts; to provide for definitions and inclusions; to provide for the
- 4 continuation in office of current members; to provide for related matters; to provide for
- 5 effective dates; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

7 SECTION 1.

- 8 An Act creating the board of commissioners of Johnson County, approved March 27, 1941
- 9 (Ga. L. 1941, p. 887), as amended, is amended by revising subsections (b) and (c) of
- 10 Section 3 as follows:

6

- 11 "(b) For the purpose of electing members of the board of commissioners, Johnson County
- is divided into five districts. Such districts shall be and correspond to those five numbered
- districts described in Appendix A attached to and made a part of this Act and further
- identified as 'User: Johnson Co. Plan Name: Johnson CCSB-2022 Plan Type: Local'.
- (c)(1) For the purposes of such plan:

(A) The term 'VTD' shall mean and describe the same geographical boundaries as provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census for the United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of Georgia. The separate numeric designations in a district description which are underneath a VTD heading shall mean and describe individual Blocks within a VTD as provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census for the United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of Georgia; and

- (B) Except as otherwise provided in the description of any district, whenever the description of any district refers to a named city, it shall mean the geographical boundaries of that city as shown on the census maps for the United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of Georgia.
- (2) Any part of Johnson County which is not included in any district described in subsection (b) of this section shall be included within that district contiguous to such part which contains the least population according to the United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of Georgia.
- (3) Any part of Johnson County which is described in subsection (b) of this section as being included in a particular district shall nevertheless not be included within such district if such part is not contiguous to such district. Such noncontiguous part shall instead be included within that district contiguous to such part which contains the least population according to the United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of Georgia."

36 SECTION 2.

(a) Those members of the Board of Commissioners of Johnson County who are serving as such on the effective date of this Act and any person selected to fill a vacancy in any such office shall continue to serve as such members until the regular expiration of their respective terms of office and upon the election and qualification of their respective successors.

41 (b) Commissioner Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, as they exist immediately prior to the effective

- 42 date of this Act, shall continue to be designated as Commissioner Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5,
- 43 respectively, but as newly described under this Act, and on and after the effective date of this
- 44 Act, such members of the board serving from those former commissioner districts shall be
- 45 deemed to be serving from and representing their respective districts as newly described
- 46 under this Act.

47 SECTION 3.

- 48 The provisions of this Act necessary to conduct elections for the members of the Board of
- 49 Commissioners of Johnson County in 2022 shall become effective upon the approval of this
- 50 Act by the Governor or upon its becoming law without such approval. The remaining
- 51 provisions of this Act shall become effective on January 1, 2023.

52 **SECTION 4.**

All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.

54 APPENDIX A

- 55 User: Johnson Co.
- 56 Plan Name: JohnsonCCSB-2022
- 57 Plan Type: Local
- 58 District 001
- 59 County Johnson GA
- 60 VTD 1671201 WRIGHTSVILLE
- 61 Block 960201:
- 62 1031 1032 1033 1038 1039 1040
- Incarcerated Plan Name: JohnsonCCSB-2022 population in block 1041 has been
- 64 excluded
- 65 1042 1043 1044 1045 1052 1053
- 66 1066 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011
- 67 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023
- 68 2024 2025 2027 2028 2030 2031 2032 2033 2036 2037 2038 2039
- 69 2040 2041 2042 2043 2052
- 70 Block 960202:
- 71 1007 1008 1009 1011 1020 1021 1022 1039 2000 2001 2002 2013
- 72 2014 2015 2016 2017 2026 2027 2028 2029 2030 2031 2032 2033
- 73 2034 2048 2049 2055 2056 2057 2058 2059 2060 2061 2062
- 74 VTD 1671820 MOORES CHAPEL
- 75 Block 960201:
- 76 1026 1027 1046 1047 1048 1049 1050 1063 1064 2000 2044 2045
- 77 District 002

- 78 County Johnson GA
- 79 VTD 1671201 WRIGHTSVILLE
- 80 Block 960201:
- 81 2026 2029 2034 2035
- 82 Block 960202:
- 83 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1010 1012 1013 1014 1019
- 84 1035 1036 1037 1038 2003 2004 2009 2010 2011 2012 2018 2019
- 85 2020 2035 2036 2037 2038 2039 2040 2041 2042 2043 2044 2045
- 86 2046 2047 2050 2051 2052 2053 2054
- 87 VTD 1671301 BRAY
- 88 Block 960300:
- 89 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013
- 90 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1023 1024 1025 1026
- 91 1027 1028 1029 1033 1034 1035 1036 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041
- 92 1042 1043 1044 1045 1046 1047 1048 1049 1050 1051 2001 2009
- 93 2010 2011
- 94 District 003
- 95 County Johnson GA
- 96 VTD 1671201 WRIGHTSVILLE
- 97 Block 960201:
- 98 2046 2047 2048 2049 2050 2051
- 99 Block 960202:
- 100 1015 1016 1017 1018 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 1030
- 101 1031 1032 1033 1034 2005 2006 2007 2008 2021 2022 2023 2024
- 102 VTD 1671301 BRAY
- 103 Block 960202:

- 104 2025
- 105 Block 960300:
- 106 1006 1007 1022 1030 1031 1032 1052 2000 2002
- 107 VTD 1671405 SPANN
- 108 Block 960300:
- 109 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
- 110 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027 2028 2029
- 111 2030 2031 2032 2033 2034 2038 2039 2040 2041
- 112 District 004
- 113 County Johnson GA
- 114 VTD 1671201 WRIGHTSVILLE
- 115 Block 960201:
- 116 1014 1015 1016 1034 1035 1036 1037
- 117 VTD 1671820 MOORES CHAPEL
- 118 Block 960100:
- 119 1000 1001 1002 1003 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1022 1030 1031
- 120 1032 1033 1037 1038 1039 1041 1042 1049 1050 1078 1139
- 121 Block 960201:
- 122 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011
- 123 1012 1013 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1028
- 124 1029 1030 1051 1054 1055 1056 1058 1059 1060 1061 1062 1065
- 125 VTD 16755 KITE
- 126 Block 960100:
- 127 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020
- 128 1021 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 1034 1035 1036 1040
- 129 1043 1044 1045 1046 1047 1048 1051 1052 1053 1054 1055 1056

130 1057 1058 1059 1060 1061 1062 1063 1064 1065 1066 1067 1068 131 1069 1070 1071 1072 1073 1074 1075 1076 1077 1079 1080 1081 1082 1083 1084 1085 1086 1087 1088 1089 1090 1091 1092 1093 132 1095 1096 1097 1098 1099 1100 1101 1102 1103 1104 1105 133 134 1106 1107 1108 1109 1110 1111 1112 1113 1114 1115 1116 1117 1118 1119 1120 1121 1122 1123 1124 1125 1126 1136 1140 135 136 Block 960201:

- 137 1057
- 138 District 005
- 139 County Johnson GA
- 140 VTD 1671201 WRIGHTSVILLE
- 141 Block 960100:
- 142 2005
- 143 VTD 1671266 SMITH
- 144 VTD 1671405 SPANN
- 145 Block 960300:
- 146 2035 2036 2037 2042
- 147 VTD 1671746 ADRIAN
- 148 VTD 1671820 MOORES CHAPEL
- 149 Block 960100:
- 150 2004
- 151 VTD 16755 KITE
- 152 Block 960100:
- 153 1127 1128 1129 1130 1131 1132 1133 1134 1135 1137 1138 1141
- 154 2000 2001 2002 2003 2010 2027 2028 2029 2030 2031 2032 2033
- 155 2034 2098 2100